The Christian Year


worship1Throughout the year, we explore our faith by marking festivals and holy days. Christian seasons each provide us with a time to focus on different aspects of our relationship with God.

Some festivals such as Christmas are very well known, but we observe many other special days. Like the changing seasons in nature, the Christian calendar gives us a rhythm and ritual to the year. There are times of quietness and reflection, and times for joy and celebration - each time we mark one of these special days, we can learn something new about the Christian message and God's love for us.

At St Peter's we mark these festivals with specially-themed services which draw on the rich tradition of Anglican worship, liturgy and music. Whether you are a regular worshipper, an occasional churchgoer or a first-time visitor, you will be most welcome. We hope that you will find a spiritual home in St Peter's Church.

Liturgical calendar

Because some Christian festivals fall on different dates each year, this liturgical calendar will help you to find out when each festival is coming up.

Today is Monday 19 February 2018. We are currently in Lent

High Days and Holy Days for 2018
Epiphany Saturday 6 January 2018
Candlemas Friday 2 February 2018
Ash Wednesday (Lent) Wednesday 14 February 2018
Palm Sunday Sunday 25 March 2018
Good Friday Friday 30 March 2018
Easter Sunday 1 April 2018
Ascension Thursday 10 May 2018
Pentecost Sunday 20 May 2018
St Peter (Patronal Festival) Friday 29 June 2018
All Saints 1 November 2018
All Souls 2 November 2018
Remembrance Sunday Sunday 11 November 2018
Advent Sunday Sunday 2 December 2018
Christmas Tuesday 25 December 2018
High Days and Holy Days for 2019
Epiphany Sunday 6 January 2019
Candlemas Saturday 2 February 2019
Ash Wednesday (Lent) Wednesday 6 March 2019
Palm Sunday Sunday 14 April 2019
Good Friday Friday 19 April 2019
Easter Sunday 21 April 2019
Ascension Thursday 30 May 2019
Pentecost Sunday 9 June 2019
St Peter (Patronal Festival) Friday 29 June 2018
All Souls 1 November 2018
All Saints 2 November 2018
Remembrance Sunday Sunday 11 November 2018
Advent Sunday Sunday 2 December 2018
Christmas Wednesday 25 December 2019